Goals: 2016

goal

2015 was a rough year. Those who’ve been here know that all too well.

But despite the hardship, I still got a lot done! I finished The Engaged Life (2015 goal #1) and got it into two festivals, I took two parts of a four part screenwriting workshop that completely transformed my writing, and I wrote a short (from the writing class) that I will make early next year. I also produced a short and an educational video on Hindi dance, I ADed and PAed on several projects, and I even did a podcast on the box office giants throughout Hollywood’s history.

On the writing front, in addition to the two part class I took and the shorts I wrote, I wrote lots more flash fiction and have continued to improve the 5000 word neo-noir I wrote last year. I’m now submitting it to literary publications and plan to adapt it into a feature once I finish my writing workshop.

I also did a lot outside of filmmaking and writing this year. Inna and I celebrated our one-year anniversary with a brief best-of-California trip, stopping at Big Sur, Davis, Tahoe, and Lone Pine. We took trips to Palm Springs, Newport Beach, and San Diego, and I even went on a desert camping trip as well. And last but not least is Christmas and New Years, which we’re spending in Costa Rica (blog post coming soon)!

Other cool things I did this year: I saw Florence and the Machine as well as 2001: A Space Odyssey and The Nightmare Before Christmas with live music at the Hollywood Bowl, listened to an Aerosmith concert from a hotel balcony, drove on a dried up lake bed, visited the house with the top rated view in Malibu, started playing soccer again, refereed the Los Angeles city section high school soccer championship, shot a shotgun and a handgun and an AR15 and a .357 magnum, went to four weddings, took apart a school bus with only a wrench and a screwdriver, and met lots of cool, interesting, wonderful people!

Oh yeah, Inna and I also adopted the best freaking dog in the world.

leia

In 2016, I will:

1) Finish my writing workshop and write the big short I’ve been searching for.

2) Make said short.

Now it’s time to get it done!

About Gabriel Bruskoff
I write about films! I make them too! See www.gabrielbruskoff.com for more information.

Leave a Reply

